Introduction

National Chiao Tung University (NCTU) was established in Taiwan in 1958. After undergoing 60 years of development and refinement, it boasts outstanding performance in the fields of information and communications, basic research, biotechnology, humanities and social sciences, management and law. At present, the total number of students stands at more than 14,000. There are 11 colleges, including the College of Electrical and Computer Engineering, College of Computer Science, College of Science, College of Engineering, College of Biological Science and Technology, College of Photonics, International College of Semiconductor Technology, College of Management, College of Humanities and Social Sciences, College of Hakka Studies, and School of Law.

The Office of International Affairs was formerly known as the "Overseas Chinese and Foreign Student Services Unit" and was established by the Office of Student Affairs in 1995 to assist the growing number of expatriates in adapting to campus life. In 2003, the Overseas Chinese and Foreign Student Services Unit was reorganized to become the "International Services Center."

Due to advances in science and technology, along with economic and trade globalization, the internationalization of higher education has become a global trend. In response to this global trend, in 2007, NCTU consolidated the “International Service Center” in the Office of Student Affairs and the “Division of Academic Exchange” in the Office of Research and Development, establishing the Office of International Affairs (hereinafter referred to as "OIA") to coordinate international affairs.

The planning, development and promotion of OIA’s internationalization strategy at NCTU will be pursued in its quest to make the leap to become a “Great University” that “leads the times, opens up new ideas, and goes the distance together”. NCTU will establish and deepen the substantive cooperation with international partners, create transnational cooperation and mobile opportunities between teachers and students, coordinate industrial needs with the recruitment of outstanding overseas students, and continue to enhance the international campus environment to promote the international reputation and influence of the university and continue to contribute rising power for Taiwan and the world.

OIA is headed by Vice President for International Affairs and is composed of two Associate Vice Presidents for International Affairs. The organization is divided into five units: the Division of Academic Exchange, Division of International Admissions, Division of International and Cross-strait Services, Division of Project Administration, and Division of Industry Cooperation to promote various businesses. The main responsibilities of each group are as follows:

  • Division of Academic Exchange: Contractual arrangements with overseas universities and academic institutions, visitor reception, participation in international education exhibitions, incoming exchange students, short-term postgraduate applications, student exchanges abroad, dual degrees, internships, and short-term research applications and scholarships.
  • Division of International Admissions: Enrollment and applications for foreign degree-seeking students, applications and issuance for foreign student scholarships, and issuance and applications of Mainland Chinese student scholarships.
  • Division of International and Cross-strait Services: Overseas student guidance and short-term international courses.
  • Division of Industry Cooperation: Overseas student internships and employment counseling.
  • Division of Project Administration: Financial control and write-offs, coordination of the international affairs management system and Office of International Affairs website, and support for other divisions.

本處簡介

本校於1958年在臺建校,歷經一甲子的發展淬鍊,在資通訊、基礎科學、生物科技、人社、管理與法律皆有傑出發展表現,目前學生總數逾1萬4千人,分屬電機學院、資訊學院、理學院、工學院、生物科技學院、光電學院、國際半導體產業學院、管理學院、人文社會學院、客家文化學院及科技法律學院等11個學院。


回顧國際事務處前身為1995年設立之學生事務處「僑生及外籍生服務組」(簡稱僑外組),以協助日漸增多的僑外生適應校園生活為主要任務,2003年僑外組改組為「國際服務中心」。隨著科技進展、經貿全球化,高等教育國際化成為世界趨勢,因應此世界潮流,本校於2007年整併學生事務處「國際服務中心」及研究發展處「學術交流組」,設立一級單位「國際事務處」(以下簡稱本處),以統籌國際化事務。


本處職司本校國際化策略之擘劃、發展與推動,在本校追求從頂尖再躍升成為「引領時代,開創新局,同行致遠」的「偉大大學(Great University)」之歷程中,藉由建立及深化與國際夥伴的實質合作關係、創造師生跨國合作及移動機會、配合產業需求延攬優秀境外生及持續精進國際化校園環境,以推升本校國際知名度及影響力,為臺灣與世界持續挹注躍昇的力量。


本處以國際長為首,由兩位副國際長輔佐,在組織上分為學術交流組、國際招生組、國際及兩岸服務組、專案行政組及產業合作組等5個單位,以推動各項業務,各組重要業務執掌如下:

  • 學術交流組:與境外大學及學術機構合約洽訂、訪賓接待、參加國際教育展、來校交換生、短期研究生申請作業、學生出國交換、修讀雙聯、實習及短期研究申請及獎學金作業。
  • 國際招生組:外國學位生之招生及申請作業、外國學生獎學金申請及核發、陸生獎學金申請及核發。
  • 國際及兩岸服務組:境外生輔導及國際短期課程。
  • 產業合作組:境外生實習及就業輔導。
  • 專案行政組:經費控管及核銷、統籌國際事務管理系統及國際處網頁、支援其他各組。