National Chiao Tung University (NCTU) was established in Taiwan in 1958. After undergoing 60 years of development and refinement, it boasts outstanding performance in the fields of information and communications, basic research, biotechnology, humanities and social sciences, management and law. At present, the total number of students stands at more than 14,000. There are 12 colleges, including the College of Electrical and Computer Engineering, College of Computer Science, College of Science, College of Engineering, College of Biological Science and Technology, College of Photonics, International College of Semiconductor Technology, College of Management, College of Humanities and Social Sciences, College of Hakka Studies, School of Law and College of Artificial Intelligence.

The Office of International Affairs was formerly known as the "Overseas Chinese and Foreign Student Services Unit" and was established by the Office of Student Affairs in 1995 to assist the growing number of expatriates in adapting to campus life. In 2003, the Overseas Chinese and Foreign Student Services Unit was reorganized to become the "International Services Center."

Due to advances in science and technology, along with economic and trade globalization, the internationalization of higher education has become a global trend. In response to this global trend, in 2007, NCTU consolidated the “International Service Center” in the Office of Student Affairs and the “Division of Academic Exchange” in the Office of Research and Development, establishing the Office of International Affairs (hereinafter referred to as "OIA") to coordinate international affairs.

The planning, development and promotion of OIA’s internationalization strategy at NCTU will be pursued in its quest to make the leap to become a “Great University” that “leads the times, opens up new ideas, and goes the distance together”. NCTU will establish and deepen the substantive cooperation with international partners, create transnational cooperation and mobile opportunities between teachers and students, coordinate industrial needs with the recruitment of outstanding overseas students, and continue to enhance the international campus environment to promote the international reputation and influence of the university and continue to contribute rising power for Taiwan and the world.

OIA is headed by Vice President for International Affairs and is composed of two Associate Vice Presidents for International Affairs. The organization is divided into five units: the Division of Academic Exchange, Division of International Admissions, Division of International and Cross-strait Services, Division of Project Administration, and Division of Industry Cooperation to promote various businesses. The main responsibilities of each group are as follows:

  • Division of Academic Exchange: Contractual arrangements with overseas universities and academic institutions, visitor reception, participation in international education exhibitions, incoming exchange students, short-term postgraduate applications, student exchanges abroad, dual degrees, internships, and short-term research applications and scholarships.
  • Division of International Admissions: Enrollment and applications for foreign degree-seeking students, applications and issuance for foreign student scholarships, and issuance and applications of Mainland Chinese student scholarships.
  • Division of International and Cross-strait Services: Overseas student guidance and short-term international courses.
  • Division of Industry Cooperation: Overseas student internships and employment counseling.
  • Division of Project Administration: Financial control and write-offs, coordination of the international affairs management system and Office of International Affairs website, and support for other divisions.